martewachter.reismee.nl

London's Calling!

Hello Dutch people!
I wanted to see wheather my English writing is improved.
Work is getting easier and easier, you get used to the place, the policy, the people.
It’s still difficult getting up at 5:15 or working more then 10 hours a day. But that’s normal I think.
This week I went to London! That was a lot of fun. Monday I left with a bus, and arrived in London at half 1 (1:30). Philo and Ulrike were both arriving at London about the same time but on different airports. So there we were, all in London but all on different points. I met Philo at the busstop and then we dicided to wait for Ulrike while drinking coffee/tea. After an hour Ulrike called me: where are you? I’m standing in front of the hostel. So Philo and me went on our way to the hostel. We got lost and it took us a couple of hours to get there. But then we met Ulrike, eat diner, anddrink something at the bar of our hostel. The hostel was nice, really a place for young people. Every night there was somekind of entertainment, quiz night, karaoke enz.
The next day we bought a busticket, so we could travel by bus for two days long. So the first day we spend most time in the bus. Seeing a lot, and there was a men telling us what we past and stuff like: the buckigham palace was fist inhabited by george the fourth, bla bla bla.
But it was a bit cold so we got out for lunch and visited the National Gallery after that.
The next day we got on the bus again, and at the Londen Bridge we got off and took a boot back to the Big Ben. We walked from the Big Ben to Buckingham Palace, and from there to the Hardrock cafe. Where we drinked a cocktail and then we got on a bus tour to the other part of the city.
Did you know there is also a little Ben? It’s a tower about 3 meters high, and just as old as the Big Ben. Very funny.
Thursday we went to the Britisch museum, and after that to the market. Witch was nice, a bit Gotich but niceJ. At seven oçlock we went back home. And the next day I was back to work again.
This week I start working roomservice for real. I just learned it because sommebody went on holiday, but now one guy is going back to Germany so I have to take his place.
Live here is nice, I even dicided to stay a month longer then planned, so I’ll be back in the end of April.
It’s funny how you learn the little diffrences in the culture. For instand if I have to order two lamb at my chef I have to be careful I don’t show him two fingers. Because two fingers, with the palm of the hand facing to the person is a big insult here. Worse then showing you’re middle finger in our country.
The whole driving on the left side of the road is something I’m used to now. But the hot and cold water are also the other way around, something I still do wrong.
For the rest I notisched that English people are talkative, sometimes rude, they curse a lot and are harder to understand then forgain people. Because they talk very fast and with a weird accent.
Today was suposed to be my day off but this morning they called me wheather I could please work. So at 3:30 I’m back to work again. With roomservice you see a diffrent part of the hotel live. Bacause you’re not just there when there are customers. You have to be there in case anybody calls you. So sometimes you have to fill hours on your on without supervisor by filling up the salt en pepper, replacing the flowers, talking to the chef, talking to the receptionist enz.
Now I’m gonna go again, shopping, cleaning, watching a movie and then to work for 8 hours. See you all soon!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active